01/01/2017

Fashion Editor Linda Addouane

A moment with Linda Addouane, freelance fashion editor

With a passion for fashion that’s proved strong enough for her to make it a career, Linda Addouane grew up just outside Paris between the Yvelines towns of Chatou and Le Vésinet. And while she’s only lived in Paris itself for the past five years, she admits that she feels like she’s always been in the city she loves… Exclusively for Paris Inspires, Addouane discusses what she loves about the capital.

If Paris were a garment what would it be?
A quilted leather handbag, that’s as timeless and chic as the city itself. It’s an iconic item so many dream of owning.

Name three places that epitomize your love of Paris
In first place there’s Pigalle for its incredible nighttime atmosphere and the unlikely people you meet there night and day. Secondly, Saint-Germain-des-Prés for its romanticism, authentic vibe, brasseries and art galleries. And then for a little escape, it’s impossible not to mention Canal St Martin, which feels so Parisian, especially when you stroll all the way up to Stalingrad.

Do you have any typically Parisian habits?
It might seem a little cliched, but never a winter goes by without me going to Café de Flore for a nice hot chocolate out on the terrace. Or, for that matter a summer without pre-dinner drinks on the terrace of Le Progrès in the Marais. They’re both always jam-packed with Parisians, tourists and passersby. I love the warm, convivial feeling there.
Café de Flore, 172 Boulevard Saint-Germain, 75006 Paris.
Le Progrès, 1 Rue de Bretagne, 75003 Paris.

Do you have any special memories of Paris ?
A sunrise at the foot of Sacré-Cœur in the arms of a special guy after a night wandering the streets. The view was incredible and the streets were so calm. It was a perfect moment that made me realize that we live in an incredible multi-faceted city.

How would you describe the typical Parisienne?
She’s both free-spirited and engaged, she’ll rock a red lip as well as a carefully created carefree look and it suits her. She’ll break into laughter on a café terrace or burst into tears on a public bench. She’s spontaneous, casual and funny. Part of her charm is the way she’ll play with fashion clichés like a Jean-Luc Godard heroine.

Describe your beauty routine
I start by cleansing my skin with soap, it’s by far the best way to wake up before I get to my coffee. Then, I love the feeling you get from a facial spray. I always mist my face with a little beauty water before moisturizing, preferably with a soft, rich creams. Finally, I go for a little glow-boosting blush. In all, it’s a speedy yet efficient routine which suits the crazy pace of Paris life.

Name a beauty dare or no-go
A dare? Gold or silver sparkle-covered eyelids. It makes for a very cabaret-like look and is sure to drive anyone who looks straight into your eyes crazy. A no-go? There’s nothing you should forbid yourself in life, much less when it comes to beauty! The only exception for me, is overly plucked brows! I have a mental block when I see a girl with brows that are too thin. There’s nothing like it for making features look harsh and diminishing anything that’s natural.

What gets you out of bed on difficult mornings?
The thought of kicking off the day with a soy chai latte from the corner coffee place and ending it late with some dinner with friends.

Do you have a favorite mood-boosting mantra or something that makes you smile every day?
Morning snapchats with friends who are still in bed, or a playlist that includes everything from Rihanna to Diana Ross and Drake. As for a mantra that I stick to: “everything’s gonna be alright”. I repeat it to myself morning, evening and whenever I feel the need. I should tattoo it on my body.

Can you share a beauty trick?
1) Forget using makeup removal wipes and go for a micellar water instead. The difference it makes for the skin is immediately obvious and it looks so much better. 2) Nibble on raisins for breakfast (in moderation of course because despite what you might think they are still pretty calorific). They’re great for helping maintain a bronzed complexion all year round, I can’t live without them.

Do you have a makeup must-have?
Yes, L’Absolu Rouge by Lancôme which gives bold long-lasting lip color all day. It’s my partner in crime and I know it’ll easily take me from dinner at the Belle Époque, to drinks at La Mano and and a dance at Les Bains. It’s the type of lip color that’s perfect for the face and lips. Because I’m a big fan of “you can never have too much of a good thing”, I love it.
La Belle Époque, 36 Rue des Petits Champs, 75002 Paris.
La Mano, 10 Rue Papillon, 75009 Paris.
Les Bains, 7 Rue du Bourg l'Abbé, 75003 Paris.

Where do you like to go for coffee?
In the winter I head to Le Pigalle hotel to curl up on a couch. In summer, there’s nothing better than the terrace of the Holiday Café.
Hôtel Le Pigalle, 9 Rue Frochot, 75009 Paris.
Holiday Café, 192 Avenue de Versailles, 75016 Paris.

For lunch with friends?
Le Bistrot Victoires, just behind Place des Victoires. It’s a discreet, reasonably priced little brasserie. Another option is Ito, on Rue Pierre Fontaine in the 9th arrondissement, it’s a favorite spot of mine for enjoying a taste of Japan in the heart of Paris.

For a stroll with friends, your partner or children?
A stroll with friends always includes a detour onto Rue des Franc-Bourgeois in the Marais to hit a few stores and have tea at Café de la Poste at the end of Rue de Turenne. With my partner, as long as it’s nice out, it has to be across Bois de Vincennes to go row a boat on the lake.
Café de la Poste, 124 Rue de Turenne, 75003 Paris.

Want to dive into Linda’s world? https://www.instagram.com/lili_addouane/ and www.lindaaddouane.tumblr.com

01/01/2017

Linda Addouane, styliste mode freelance

Un moment avec... Linda Addouane, styliste mode freelance

Passionnée de mode au point d’en faire son métier, Linda a grandi aux abords de Paris, entre Chatou et Le Vésinet dans les Yvelines. Bien qu’elle n’habite dans Paris intra-muros que depuis 5 ans, elle avoue avoir l’impression d’avoir toujours vécu dans cette ville qu’elle aime tant. En exclusivité pour Paris Inspires, elle nous parle de sa capitale fétiche.

Si Paris était... une pièce de mode ?
Un sac en cuir matelassé, dont le style à la fois chic, élégant et intemporel, est à l’image de cette ville. Une pièce culte que nous rêvons toutes de posséder un jour.

Trois lieux qui incarnent le Paris que vous aimez ?
En premier lieu : Pigalle pour son visage nocturne surprenant, et ses rencontres improbables de jour comme de nuit. En second : Saint-Germain-des-Prés. Pour son romantisme, son authenticité, ses brasseries et ses galeries aux artistes variés. Et enfin, impossible de ne pas citer le Canal St Martin, à la fois dépaysant et si parisien, quand on pousse la balade jusqu’à Stalingrad…

Une tradition typiquement parisienne ?
Cela peut paraître très cliché, mais je ne passe pas un hiver sans déguster un bon chocolat chaud en terrasse du Café de Flore, ni un été sans un apéritif à la terrasse du Progrès dans le Marais. Deux lieux toujours bondés, où l’on s'agglutine entre parisiens, touristes et curieux de passage. J’aime la chaleur humaine et la convivialité rassurante qui y règnent…
Café de Flore, 172 Boulevard Saint-Germain, 75006 Paris.
Le Progrès, 1 Rue de Bretagne, 75003 Paris.

Un souvenir fort ou émouvant à Paris ?
Un lever de soleil au pied du Sacré-Cœur dans les bras d’un garçon qui compte, après une nuit à flâner dans les rues… La vue était juste incroyable et les rues tellement calmes. Un moment idéal pour prendre conscience que nous vivons dans une ville extraordinaire, aux multiples facettes.

Votre vision de la Parisienne ?
Elle est à la fois libre et engagée, elle assume son rouge à lèvres et sa dégaine faussement négligée car c’est ce qui lui va le mieux. Elle peut exploser de joie à la terrasse d’un café et fondre en larmes sur un banc public. Elle est pleine de spontanéité, de désinvolture et d’humour. Elle se joue des clichés mode et c’est ce qui fait son charme d’ailleurs, un peu comme les héroïnes de Jean-Luc Godard.

Quelle est votre routine beauté ?
Je commence par nettoyer ma peau au savon… De loin, le seul moyen pour me réveiller avant de boire mon café. Ensuite, comme j’apprécie particulièrement la sensation des brumisations, je me vaporise systématiquement une eau de beauté sur le visage, puis je l’hydrate. J’ai une préférence pour les crèmes moelleuses. Enfin, une touche de blush à effet bonne mine. Une routine rapide et efficace, à l’image de la vie parisienne qui file à une allure folle.

Une audace ou un interdit en Beauté ?
Une audace ? Une paupière totalement nappée de paillettes argentées ou dorées. L’assurance d’un effet cabaret, qui rendra dingue la personne qui plongera son regard dans le vôtre… Un interdit ? Il ne faut rien s’interdire dans la vie, encore moins en beauté... Seule exception : des sourcils trop épilés ! C’est bien simple, quand je vois une fille avec les sourcils trop fins, je fais un blocage. Rien de tel pour enlever tout son naturel au visage et durcir les traits…

Une pensée pour vous tirer du lit, les matins difficiles ?
L’idée d’attaquer la journée avec un chaï latté soja attrapé au vol au coffee shop du coin, mais aussi de la clôturer très tard, autour d’un dîner entre amis.

Un mantra bonne humeur ou des petites choses du quotidien qui vous font sourire ?
Les snapchats matinaux de mes amies encore dans leur lit, tout comme une bonne playlist, incluant aussi bien du Rihanna que du Diana Ross ou du Drake. Quant au mantra qui me colle à la peau c’est « everything's gonna be alright », je me le répète du matin au soir dès que j’en sens le besoin. Ces quelques mots mériteraient d’être tatoués sur mon corps !

Un réflexe beauté à transmettre ?
1) Oublier définitivement les lingettes démaquillantes et leur préférer de l’eau micellaire. La différence est flagrante et la peau, elle, s’en porte beaucoup mieux.
2) Croquer des raisins secs (avec modération car cela reste calorique contrairement à ce que l’on peut croire) au petit-déjeuner. Radical pour s’assurer un teint à l’effet hâlé toute l’année. Je ne peux plus m’en passer.

Un fantasme cosmétique ?
Oui ! L’Absolu Rouge de Lancôme qui promet une couleur intense et longue durée tout en hydratant les lèvres… Pour moi, il a tout d’un « partner in crime ! » Je suis convaincue qu’il peut me suivre lors d'une soirée qui débuterait par un dîner à la Belle Époque, continuerait à la Mano et finirait par une dernière danse aux Bains. C’est le type de rouge à lèvres qui, j’en suis certaine, habille de consorts la bouche et aussi le visage. Et comme je suis une adepte du « point trop n’en faut », il me tente particulièrement…
La Belle Époque, 36 Rue des Petits Champs, 75002 Paris.
La Mano, 10 Rue Papillon, 75009 Paris.
Les Bains, 7 Rue du Bourg l'Abbé, 75003 Paris.

Une adresse pour prendre un café ?
L’hiver, direction l’Hôtel Le Pigalle pour s’y lover dans un canapé. Et l’été, rien de mieux que la terrasse du Holiday Café.
Hôtel Le Pigalle, 9 Rue Frochot, 75009 Paris.
Holiday Café, 192 Avenue de Versailles, 75016 Paris.

Pour déjeuner entre copines ?
Le Bistrot Victoires, juste derrière la place des Victoires. Une brasserie discrète et très abordable. Autre option : Ito, rue Pierre Fontaine dans le 9ème, mon spot préféré pour retrouver les saveurs japonaises en plein Paris.

La meilleure balade à faire entre copines, avec son amoureux, ou ses enfants ?
Celle entre copines inclut forcément un crochet par la rue des Franc-Bourgeois dans le Marais. Le temps d’y faire quelques boutiques, puis une pause thé au Café de la Poste, au bout de la rue de Turenne. Celle en amoureux, sous réserve qu’il fasse beau se déroule au Bois de Vincennes, avec pour parenthèse enchantée une balade en barque sur le lac…
Café de la Poste, 124 Rue de Turenne, 75003 Paris.

Envie de découvrir l’univers de Linda ? https://www.instagram.com/lili_addouane/ et www.lindaaddouane.tumblr.com