Leslie David’s playful outlook

Boasting clients like Metronomy, Kitsuné, Le Mont Saint Michel and Lancôme, Leslie David’s colourfully dynamic, graphic artwork has charmed more than just a few customers. We meet the candid, hard-working art director in her charming Montmartre apartment and enjoy the view from her patio garden.

Profession: Art Director
Neighbourhood: 18th arrondissement

As a Parisian at heart (even though you grew up in Montélimar) what Parisian habits have you adopted? Taking the Metro every day, it’s a habit that gradually takes hold.

Where do you go in the capital to relax and recharge? My Saturday morning ceramics class. Getting into contact with the clay for 3 hours without emails and phone calls leaves me feeling like I’ve been to a yoga class. Creativity and a zen attitude make for the perfect combination.

What’s inspiring you right now? Nail varnish. I was Creative Director for the “You are Lancôme” project and I had a lot of fun blending together glitter and nail varnish colours. Together they create some surprising kaleidoscopic effects.

Other than illustration and design, what other passions and interests inspire you? Music, cooking, my family, my daughter, my friends’ kids and kids in general. I love watching kids. In fact some friends and I (Pedro Winter,Antoine Lampérière and Justine Valletoux) have launched the Stéréokids Festival with the idea that we can introduce children to the artists their parents love with afternoons filled with concerts and shows. It makes for a really joyful, sharing experience.
Stéréokids, 120 Boulevard de Rochechouart, 75018 Paris.

You tend to use a lot of colour, is that a stylistic choice, or a passion? And, in your mind is colour an essential component of beauty? It’s really by chance that I use colour, or maybe it’s a phase I’m going through. I used to work with a lot of black and white and colour’s only been appearing in my work for a little while. I think colour challenges beauty, because it can make it something look either outrageous and bold or quite delicate. It’s all a question of balance and good pairing.

Do you have a good luck charm that inspires you? I have a growing collection of ceramic hands (ring holders) that I’ve picked up here and there over the years.

Name a movie that brings a smile to your face Jacques Démy’s The Young Girls of Rochefort, always brings back lots of memories for me.

How about a piece of artwork that seems to makes life more beautiful? Anything by the English artist David Hockney, because his work is joyful, relaxing, naïf and colourful.

Name three energizing songs. Blue Boy by Mac DeMarco, Let it Happen by Tame Impala, Ancora Tu by Lucio Battisti and 10,000 others.

What thought gets you out of bed in the morning? Is it Friday yet?

How do you beat the blues? With a good sleep.

Do you have any favourite French foods? I love foie gras.

What kind of breakfast gets you up and going? For the first time in my life, I’ve got myself into a regular breakfast routine that I can easily follow: lemon juice, tea and a chia seed pudding. I’m not sure how long it’ll last as I can get bored quickly.

What do you eat for an energy boost? A green juice, it doesn’t matter what kind. The bright colour has a great psychological effect on me.

How would you describe the typical Parisienne? As pretty, as someone who likes to complain and as someone you could be put off by at first, but who ends up being so funny that you become best friends.

How would you define female beauty? With grace, which fortunately or unfortunately is something that can’t be bought. It is though something that is worth having. That’s the art of being a Parisienne.

Name a Parisian beauty habit that’s beautiful in its own right It’s the quick and yet very precise way I apply nothing but mascara. I feel very chic, even when it’s the only makeup I’m wearing, I take it everywhere with me especially in my bag on a night out, or for impromptu get-togethers.

What was your most recent beauty find? It’s more of a new beauty habit: Now at 30 years of age I never go out without putting on sunscreen. I put it on every day.

Do you have any special routines for making sure you sleep well? I put a few drops of lavender essential oil on my pillow, it guarantees immediate relaxation. And, every once in a while I give myself a little course of melatonin, it’s like inviting the sandman to stay, plus it’s natural and it works on insomnia.

What beauty tips do you share with your daughter? I tell her to smile!

Your Paris address book:Where do you go to train your eye? Le Coeur art gallery, opened by my friends Maroussia and Séverine. Their exhibits are always surprising and on point.
Le Cœur, 83 Rue de Turenne, 75003 Paris. Tel. : +33 9 83 57 25 23.

For pretty gifts? I like to get something nice for the home from Th Manufacture, a resource for handmade household objects I collaborate with. Shop online at Th Manufacture. www.thmanufacture.com

For a massage or treatment? The Azhar hammam that just opened on my street as part of the Institut des cultures de l’Islam (Institute for Islamic Cultures). It’s nice, not too expensive and I like going there with my girlfriends.
Institut des cultures de l’Islam, 56 Rue Stephenson, 75018 Paris. Tel: + 33 1 53 09 99 84.

For tea, coffee or a cocktail? Brasserie Barbès. I worked on its visual identity and I live nearby. It’s a great spot no matter what time of day. You can either sit out on the terrace, in the ground floor and first floor dining rooms, or at the second floor drinks and dancing style bar.
Brasserie Barbès, 2 Boulevard Barbès, 75018 Paris. Tel. : + 33 1 42 64 52 23.

For lunch with friends? We tend to end up at a little Japanese Bento like Nanashi or at Super Nature, a peaceful organic place near my office in the busy Bourse area.
Nanashi, 31 Rue de Paradis, 75010 Paris. Tel. : + 33 1 40 22 05 55 ou au 57 Rue Charlot, 75003 Paris. Tél. : + 33 1 44 61 45 49.
Super Nature, 8,12 ,15 Rue Trévise, 75009 Paris. Tel. : + 33 1 42 46 58 04.

For home design pieces? I like to head to vintage furniture places like Maison Nordik.
Maison Nordik, 159 Rue Marcadet, 75018 Paris.

Photos : Saskia Lawaks

08/10/2015

L’atmosphère ludique de Leslie David

Son art coloré, graphique, dynamique en a charmé plus d’un : Metronomy, Kitsuné, Le Mont Saint-Michel… et Lancôme ! Leslie David, directrice artistique aux mille projets et à la fraîcheur incarnée, nous a reçues dans son appartement bonbonnière, où il fait bon flâner dans le jardin-terrasse dominant les toits de Montmartre. Rencontre.

Profession : Directrice artistique
Quartier : 18ème arrondissement

En tant que Parisienne de cœur (vous avez grandi à Montélimar), avez-vous adopté une habitude propre à cette ville ? Le métro tous les jours. Une habitude à laquelle on se fait petit à petit…

Avez-vous des repères dans la capitale pour vous ressourcer ? Mon cours de céramique tous les samedis matins. Le contact avec la terre et surtout l’absence de coups de fils et de mails pendant 3 heures me font l’effet d’un cours de yoga. Zen attitude et créativité : le combo parfait !

Une source d’inspiration particulière en ce moment ? Le vernis à ongles. Avec le projet « You are Lancôme », dont j’étais directrice artistique, je me suis beaucoup amusée à mélanger les couleurs de vernis et les paillettes. Les effets sont toujours surprenants, un peu comme un kaléidoscope…

Outre le graphisme et l’illustration, quelles autres passions vous apportent inspiration et bonheur dans votre vie quotidienne ? La musique, la cuisine, ma famille, ma fille, les enfants de mes amis et les enfants en général. J’adore regarder les enfants. D’ailleurs, j’ai monté le Festival Stéréokids avec ma bande de copains (Pedro Winter, Antoine Lampérière, Justine Valletoux). L’idée ? Faire découvrir aux enfants, en une après-midi de concerts et d’animations, les artistes dont raffolent leurs parents. Un pur moment de joie et de transmission.
Stéréokids, 120, boulevard de Rochechouart, 75018 Paris.

Vous utilisez énormément la couleur : choix de style, hasard ou pure passion ? Est-elle essentielle à la beauté selon vous ? C’est un peu un hasard, ou une période peut-être, car j’ai longtemps travaillé en noir et blanc et ce n’est que depuis peu que la couleur s’impose dans mes créations. Je crois que la couleur défie la beauté car elle peut la rendre outrancière ou, à l’inverse, délicate. Tout est une question de dosage et de bons mélanges.

Avez-vous un objet porte-bonheur ou qui vous inspire ? Ma collection de mains en céramique (des portes-bagues) chinées ici et là, qui grandit d’ailleurs au fil des années.

Le film qui vous donne le sourire ? Les Demoiselles de Rochefort de Jacques Demy, une vraie madeleine de Proust.

Un dessin qui rend la vie plus belle en le contemplant ? Tous les dessins du peintre anglais David Hockney, inconditionnellement, car ils sont apaisants, joyeux, naïfs et colorés.

3 morceaux de musique catalyseurs d’énergie ? Blue Boy de Mac DeMarco, Let it Happen de Tame Impala, Ancora Tu de Lucio Battisti et 10 000 autres…

Une pensée pour vous tirer du lit les matins difficiles ? On est vendredi ?

Un réflexe anti-blues ? Un bon gros dodo.

Un plat fétiche dans la cuisine française ? Je raffole du foie gras.

Un petit-déjeuner qui vous donne la pêche ? Pour la première fois de ma vie, j’ai une routine petit-déjeuner que j’arrive à suivre : du jus de citron, du thé et du pudding aux graines de chia. Mais pas sûr que cela dure très longtemps, je risque de m’ennuyer très vite…

Une recette pour stimuler votre niveau énergie ? Un jus vert, n’importe lequel. L’effet de cette couleur est purement psychologique sur moi.

Votre vision de la Parisienne ? Une jolie râleuse qu’on prend facilement en grippe dès la première minute mais qui se révèle si drôle qu’on en ferait bien sa meilleure amie à la deuxième.

Comment définissez-vous la beauté d’une femme ? La grâce qui, malheureusement ou heureusement, ne s’achète pas. Mais qui peut s’entretenir, c’est là tout l’art de la Parisienne…

Le geste beauté de la Parisienne qui se suffit à lui-même ? Un geste rapide mais précis pour appliquer mon mascara. Je me sens très chic rien qu’avec ça. Je l’emporte partout avec moi et il trône dans mon sac de soirée, pour les raccords impromptus.

Votre dernière trouvaille beauté ? Une nouvelle habitude plutôt : ça y est, à 30 ans passés, je n’oublie jamais de sortir sans mon écran total. J’en mets tous les jours.

Un rituel bien-être pour dormir sereinement ? Déposer quelques gouttes d’huile essentielle de lavande sous l’oreiller : apaisement immédiat garanti. Et, de temps en temps, démarrer une énième petite cure de mélatonine, un marchand de sable naturel et très efficace en cas d’insomnies répétées.

Un secret de beauté à transmettre à votre fille ? Souris ma fille !

Vos adresses à Paris pour s’aiguiser l’œil ? La galerie d’art Le Cœur ouverte par mes copines Maroussia & Séverine. Les expositions y sont toujours surprenantes et pointues.
Le Cœur, 83 Rue de Turenne, 75003 Paris. Tél. : +33 9 83 57 25 23.

Pour faire de jolis cadeaux ? Un bel objet pour la maison de chez Th Manufacture, maison d’édition d’objets faits à la main, à laquelle je collabore.
A commander sur le site en ligne de Th Manufacture. www.thmanufacture.com

Pour vous faire masser ou décompresser ? Un hammam –Azhar- a ouvert dans ma rue, à l’Institut des cultures de l’Islam, c’est agréable et pas trop cher, j’adore y aller avec des copines.
Institut des cultures de l’Islam, 56 Rue Stephenson, 75018 Paris. Tél. : + 33 1 53 09 99 84.

Pour prendre un café, un thé ou un cocktail ? La brasserie Barbès ! J’en ai signé l’identité visuelle et c’est juste à côté de chez moi. On y est bien à n’importe quel moment de la journée. C’est au choix : la terrasse côté rue, la salle de restaurant (au rez-de-chaussée et au 1er) façon ambiance des îles ou le bar-dancing au 2ème étage.
Brasserie Barbès, 2 Boulevard Barbès, 75018 Paris. Tél. : + 33 1 42 64 52 23.

Pour un déjeuner entre copines ? On se retrouve toujours dans le temple du bento japonais, chez Nanashi ou bien à Super Nature, havre de paix bio juste à côté de mon bureau, en pleine agitation du quartier de la Bourse.
Nanashi, 31 Rue de Paradis, 75010 Paris. Tél. : + 33 1 40 22 05 55 ou au 57 Rue Charlot, 75003 Paris. Tél. : + 33 1 44 61 45 49.
Super Nature, 8,12 ,15 rue Trévise, 75009 Paris. Tél. : + 33 1 42 46 58 04.

Pour chiner des objets design ? La boutique de mobilier vintage façon galerie, Maison Nordik.
Maison Nordik, 159 Rue Marcadet, 75018 Paris.

Photos : Saskia Lawaks