09/10/2015

Swim Chic at these 4 Paris Pools

Even if it’s been a few months since summer swimming was the order of the day, now’s the perfect time to discover four of Paris’ best pools for staying in shape and enjoying a few laps in complete calm and tranquility.

1/ Pontoise Swimming Pool

Large in size (it’s 33m x 15m) and heated to a constant 28°C, Pontoise pool has been a local favourite ever since it opened in 1933. Regulars love its art deco architecture, its 160 individual changing rooms set on two levels overlooking the pool, its glass ceiling which soaks the pool in plenty of natural light and its strong underwater lighting for evening swimming. It’s worth noting that several days a week the pool offers up extended hours, to allow for relaxing swims until as late at 11:45 pm. Luxury awaits!
La Piscine Pontoise, 19 Rue de Pontoise, 75005 Paris. Open until 11:45pm during the week and between 10am and 7pm on Saturday. 4.80 euros for daytime swimming, 11.10 euros for evenings after 8pm.

2/ The Molitor

Boasting an indoor glass-roofed 33m pool, a second outdoor 46m pool, workout rooms, individual coaching service, members-only club, gourmet restaurant, rooftop terrace and 124-bedroom Mgallery-designed hotel, Piscine Molitor reopened just this past spring after massive renovation work. First opened in 1929, the pool was widely regarded as Paris’ best until it closed in 1989. Today, two options allow you to swim there: 1/Stay over at the hotel (talk about great weekend getaway idea). 2/Become a member, fees permitting.
La Piscine Molitor,
8 Avenue de la Porte Molitor, 75016 Paris. Open from 7am to 10pm during the week and from 8am to 8pm at the weekend. www.mltr.fr/fr

3/Neuilly Aquatic Center

The Neuilly-sur-Seine Aquatic Center’s biggest attraction? Not one, not two, but three swimming pools. Often classed as one of the best places to swim in the French capital, the first 25m pool offers up swimming space for sporty lap swimmers, the second 15m pool features space that’s perfect for learner swimmers and the third outdoor pool offers a playful outdoor swim area. Add to that a sauna, solarium, steam room and a large array of classes including aqua aerobics, gentle aqua aerobics, baby swim sessions and swimming classes and you have all the makings of a great morning of sport for the whole family – at a very reasonable €8.50 entry price.
Le Centre Aquatique de Neuilly,
27-31 Boulevard d'Inkermann, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine. €5.80. for non residents. Opening times vary. www.neuillysurseine.fr/centre-aquatique

4/ The Royal Monceau

Opened in 2011, this private 28m pool is situated within the Royal Monceau’s Starck-designed spa, becoming the largest hotel pool in Paris. Not surprising then that many a Paris businesswoman has made it her relaxation HQ. As for the ambiance, think pure white zen with pools of natural light that make any grey-day swim feel like an outdoor escape -- all topped off with sensitive, coloured adjustable-jet showers that round up any fitness routine perfectly. The only downside? The €200 a day spa entry price or €4,500 annual spa membership fee.
La piscine Royal Monceau,
37 Avenue Hoche, Paris 8. Open from 6 am to 10 pm. www.leroyalmonceau.com

Photos: Alexandre Soria, Frédéric Baron-Morin, Boris Zuliani

09/10/2015

4 jolies piscines pour nager chic à Paris

Parce qu’il y a tout juste deux mois, on nageait tous les jours, voici les 4 plus jolies adresses de la capitale pour entretenir sa silhouette en faisant des longueurs en toute sérénité.

1/ La Piscine Pontoise

Avec ses dimensions grandioses (33 mètres de long sur 15 de large) et sa température à 28° toute l’année, cette piscine connaît un franc succès depuis son ouverture en 1933. Ses habitués adorent son look Art Déco, avec ses 160 cabines déployées en coursives sur deux étages et sa verrière qui laisse entrer la lumière naturelle le jour, pendant que des projecteurs installés au fond du bassin éclairent les lieux la nuit. Dernier point très apprécié : les horaires à rallonge certains soirs de la semaine, qui permettent de s’y détendre jusqu’à 23h45. Un vrai luxe.
La Piscine Pontoise
, 19 rue de Pontoise, 75005 Paris. Ouverte jusqu’à 23H45 la semaine et de 10h à 19 heures le samedi. Compter 4,80€ la journée et 11,10€ à partir de 20h. www.carilis.fr/francais/ espace-sportif-pontoise/

2/ La Piscine Molitor

Un premier bassin d’hiver de 33 mètres abrité sous une immense verrière, un second d’été de 46 mètres en extérieur, des salles de sport, un service de coaching privé, un club sélect, un restaurant gastronomique, un toit terrasse, un hôtel de 124 chambres signé Mgallery… Tels sont les multiples services de la Piscine Molitor, qui a rouvert ses portes au printemps dernier. Un ravalement grand luxe pour cette piscine initialement inaugurée en 1929, qui a longtemps été la plus prisée de la capitale, avant sa fermeture en 1989. Pour avoir la chance de s’y baigner deux options : 1/ dormir à l’hôtel (une bonne idée d’escapade entre amoureux le week-end). 2/ Être membre, mais la cotisation n’est vraiment pas donnée…
La Piscine Molitor,
8 avenue de la Porte Molitor, 75016 Paris. Ouverte de 7h à 22 heures la semaine et de 8h à 20 heures le week-end. www.mltr.fr/fr (voir photos)

3/ Le Centre Aquatique de Neuilly

Pas un, ni deux, mais trois bassins ! Voici l’atout majeur du Centre Aquatique de Neuilly-sur-Seine, régulièrement classé parmi les meilleurs endroits pour nager de la capitale… Le premier bassin, sur 25m, accueille les sportifs. Le second, sur 15m, favorise l’apprentissage. Et le troisième, en version ludique, est situé à l’extérieur. Ajoutez à cela un sauna, un solarium et un hammam, ainsi qu’une carte de cours bien fournie (aquagym, aquagym douce, bébé nageur, cours de natation), pour un budget archi-raisonnable (5,80 €) et vous obtenez l’option la plus indiquée pour une matinée sportive en famille.
Le Centre Aquatique de Neuilly,
27-31 boulevard d'Inkermann, 92200 Neuilly-sur-Seine. Tarif unique pour les non-résidents : 5,80€. Horaires d’ouverture variables selon les jours. www.neuillysurseine.fr/centre-aquatique

4/ La piscine du Royal Monceau

Inaugurée en 2011, cette piscine privée de 28 mètres de long, installée en plein cœur du spa entièrement revisité par Starck, est la plus grande piscine de tous les hôtels parisiens. Très vite, les femmes d’affaire en ont fait leur QG détente. Il faut dire que son ambiance blanche immaculée assure un effet zénifiant radical, que son puits de lumière naturelle procure la merveilleuse sensation de nager en plein air les jours de grisaille, et que les douches sensitives (avec variations de jets et de couleurs) peaufinent la remise en forme. Seul hic, les tarifs… Compter environ 200 € la journée avec accès libre au spa et 4500€ l’abonnement annuel.
La piscine du Royal Monceau, 37 avenue Hoche, Paris 8. Ouverte de 6h à 22 heures. www.leroyalmonceau.com